Healthy Living

Articles to Better Your Health

Sports Nutrition — Marathon Story


Like many of you I do believe in the importance of nutrition as an athlete. I played collegiate volleyball and wish I had known about ProVantage back then. Today I am running marathons and just keeping in good physical health.

When I first started running marathons, and for the most part I do it not for time, but for a cause or just because it looks like a fun run. For those that don’t run, this will sound absurd to you. LOL! But when I first started training, I would get the pain in my shoulder, too many years hitting a volleyball. Or I would get some pain and discomfort in my knees and back. But I thought this was all normal and that if your run, you will have some pain, it is to be expected. Have you ever run a marathon and seen what the medical tents carry?? I was surprised people made it across the finish line.

I digress… So when I first started training I was introduced to a nutritional food supplement made by a company called Reliv International. I thought to myself… yup, just another nutritional product.  But it has a money back guarantee and I started to hear some great health stories about people taking Reliv. So I gave it a try.

Then the next thing you know I am visiting my chiropractor and I am told I have a degenerative disk in my lower back and that we were going to manage my pain. I let him know that I was planning to run a marathon and he said you can do it but you will have to take it easy. So now I am worried that my back is going to have stabbing pain while I run and that I won’t be able to move for a week after this run. But you know what… I just want to see if I could run a marathon…

So I started taking my Reliv Shake. I started with the basics and then added the ProVantage. Wow! Is all I can say. ProVantage aided in faster recovery time and boy did I feel good when I ran. If you click on the ProVantage link above it give you the features and benefits of this product. I was impressed with how my body felt and how little down time I had to take to recover.

Day of race I did pretty good. I completed in less then 6 hours, which for me was awesome. Had a blast running with my friends and felt good. We all went back to our hotel rooms to rest up after the race… Well, my friends were not taking Reliv nutrition so I had something to gauge my results against. One of my friends sat in an ice bath. My other friend rubbed on a pain ointment. I took my shake and went to sleep. Woke up two hours later and was amazed. I had minor soreness in the quads but nothing painful. No back discomfort… no shoulder pain. I was feeling great. I was able to walk up and down stairs without discomfort. I watched my friends tackle the same stairs and it was like watching a stick-figure walk. It just looked painful.

Next day I was walking around NASA like it was nothing. I was in 3 inch heels by that night. I was feeling great.

Since this marathon I have run in a couple others and am looking forward to running in many more. But this is a fact… I won’t run without my Reliv!

Cheers to Optimal Health!

Katrina van Oudheusden

Independent Reliv Distributor

Our products are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure or prevent any disease or medical condition. Our products are designed to provide optimal, balanced nutrition and to target specific wellness needs.

May 18, 2010 - Posted by | Fitness, Nutrition, Sports Nutrition | , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

